Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to choose friends that can have fun with you than to choose friends that will help you when you need them.

Throughout history, friendship has played an important role in people’s lives. People always have been trying to choose friends during their lives. It goes without saying that the friends people choose affect their lives and characteristics. In this regard, some people possess the conviction that it is more significant to choose friends that can have fun with you. Nevertheless, others may subscribe to the idea that choosing friends who help you in time of a crisis is a better idea. I am of the opinion that it is a more prudent course of action to choose friends who are always ready to help you. In what follows, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

First and foremost, life is full of unplanned situations, which means people may face issues that cannot be solved in solitude. To put it another way, owing to the complexities of modern life and society, people are confronting difficult and challenging problems in their every day lives. It is axiomatic that having friends who can help in these circumstances affect people’s lives and also help them to throw their stresses away. My own experience is a case in point. Approximately two years ago, because of my sedentary lifestyle, I was diagnosed with the heart disease, and as my doctor mentioned, I should have had a heart surgery as soon as possible. Unfortunately, I did not have enough money to afford the cost of surgery, so I decided asking my friends to lend some money to me. Afterward, they helped me and provided me with sufficient amount of money. Had I not had such friends, I would not have been able to afford the surgery.

The second noteworthy reason to be mentioned is that having these types of friends will help people to boost their self-confidence and earn enough courage to be achieve their goals. To put it simply, the more people’s friends are ready to help them in unfavorable situations, the more people will have bravery to take different risks. Therefore, they will have more motivation and will try so hard that they will achieve their goals. In the research conducted in my country in 2020, the factors that affected people’s prosperity in their businesses were analyzed. The results revealed that the most important factor was the number of the friends who help people when they need them. These prosperous people who took part in this study mentioned that their friends were always available when they needed them, so they have enough self-confident to take risks and fight for their goals. These people did not have any stress when they faced difficulties, nor did they afraid of embrace different challenges.

The aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that having friends who are available when you need them is very valuable asset because nowadays life is full of unplanned emergencies, and not all problems can be solved individually. Moreover, friends who help people always, will give people enough self-confidence and courage to take risks when it is due. In other words, not only do these friends help people, but also they give them impetus to endeavor harder to achieve their goals. It is suggested that people take into account their friends’ personality traits when they want choose them.