Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, the advertisement is the hallmark of a successful business, which helps producers increase their sells. I personally think that in commercials, companies make their products look better than they really are. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To start with, products often are advertised by famous people whom we admire and trust. When our famous artists or showmen tell us in a commercial that a particular item is excellent to use, we tend to believe in this statement since we love these celebrities and are certain in their honesty. My personal experience illustrates this concept. I have an incredibly dry and irritated skin and I always search for new creams to nourish it. Recently, I saw a video on television where one of my favorite actresses praised a novel lotion for people with the same problem that I have. She told that this cream was a breakthrough in cosmetology and everyone should give it a shot. I decided to follow her advice and purchased a tube of the cream in the local store. How disappointed I was to find out that the product had the immensely unpleasant smell and did not work in the way that it was supposed to. That is why I think that celebrities` statements in commercials can be misleading.

Secondly, sometimes manufacturers hide disadvantageous of their goods while advertising them. The main goal of a commercial is to sell a product and for this reason companies describe a lot of benefits of an item but they stay silent about its drawbacks. For instance, when a few days ago I saw on a street a huge banner with an advertisement of a novel medicine that treats the common cold. A text on the sheet had a lot of information about how this drug has helped to relieve symptoms of the illness such as running nose and cough. However, the side effects of this medication were written on the very bottom of the banner and the print was so fine that I could barely read it. In this way, I could have been attracted by the listed benefits of the drug but overlook the side effects and would have struggled with them. To that end, in my opinion, a lot of ads lack important details.

To conclude, I strongly believe that in commercials, goods are represented better than they are in the reality. This is because they advertised by people whom we admire, and their producers keep back crucial information about them.