Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern world, it is important to be an educated person in order to excel. For this reason, contemporary parents do all they can to educate their children. Personally, I think that these days parents participate in their kids` academical life in a higher degree than it was in the past. There are a few reasons why I hold this opinion.

First of all, the technological development has been helping parents to be aware of their children`s grades constantly. Nowadays, it is possible to check online, how a student is doing in school. If a parent sees that his kid`s scores dropped, he can take an immediate action and encourage the pupil to catch up in school disciplines. My old brother`s experience demonstrates this concept. His daughter is a senior, and as a teenager, she often gets distracted from her school assignments on a different kind of things, such as a cell phone and social networking websites. Because of that, every day my sibling goes to her school online portal and checks her marks. When he notes that she is not succeeding, he talks to her about the importance of advanced education and how it can affect her future. On the other hand, when my brother and I were students, our parents did not have such as an opportunity to control us, so our knowledge suffered oftentimes.

Secondly, these days ubiquitous centers for young learners help parents to find talents in their children and evolve them. Modern governments have a myriad of programs, which are aimed to determine what a particular child can do better and develop this ability. For instance, in my country, every small town and a big city have a lot of educational centers where parents can bring their children and sign them up for an activity they are interested the most. It can be a sport section or a math class. All these activities are free of cost and financed by the government. For instance, my niece, who I mentioned above, is in a chemistry workshop where teachers help her to learn the subject deeply and in details. Her parents believe that the expertise that she gains in a center, where they brought her since she was a fifth-grade student, will help her to attend a pharmacy school and become a valuable member of the society and a financially independent individual.

To conclude, I strongly believe that parents are more involved in their kids` intellectual growth today than it was before. This is because days they have important technological tools and an easy access to a variety of educational clubs for children.