Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this progressive world where we live, every individual should possess one exquisite characteristic- responsibility- in order to overcome the vicissitudes of life. There has been a debate among psychologists over the issue that children will be responsible in the future if the parents teach them how to manage money in the early ages. Personally speaking, I strongly agree with this very notion and hold the opinion that children will learn to be responsible if being taught at young age. The reasons to substantiate my point of view are explored in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is no secret to anyone that children are born with a blank slate which means that their mind encompasses nothing and is considered as an empty slate which can be shaped gradually. In this line of thought, children adapt their manner, behavior, and some specific features early in life; among these features, responsibility is the most marked criteria. Should children know how to manage their own money in childhood, it not surprising that they will learn responsibility in later stages of life. To put it in a more vivid picture, when I was nine years old, my mother used to give me an allocated amount of pocket money for a whole week. My mother was of the opinion that I would indirectly learn how to manage my pocket money in order to survive a whole week without being dependent on extra money from my parents. Not only had I to spend my money to buy what I needed, but also I had to save a quota of that money to be used for a rainy day. This presupposition of my parents that I will learn how to be responsible if I know how to manage my money in the childhood helped me to a great extent.

Furthermore, another important point which needs to be clarified is that teaching children how to have a good management skill for the money they receive will eventually leads them to appreciate the value of money besides the positive outcome of responsibility. A study conducted at Arizona State University revealed that the majority of children who were taught in childhood about the value of money, appreciate saving and money much better that their counterparts. Moreover, psychologically speaking, money appreciation will in turn help the person to care about his or her future in order to flourish. Under such a circumstance, it is pivotal to teach children about the management skill in order to enjoy their future much better.

In conclusion, having considered the abovementioned reasons into account, I hold the idea that children will not be responsible in adulthood unless they are being taught how to manage their money in childhood. The appreciation of the value of money and the responsibility they achieve are among the most conspicuous reasons which have been discussed in this essay. Is there any parents who want to raise their children in an inappropriate manner which in turn leads to irresponsibility?