Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Finding a secure and desired occupation is always considered as a crucial problem for many people during different times. Some people think that it was easier in the old days than today to determine if a career can lead someone toward success or not. While, some others believe that this fact have not changed dramatically over time. In my view, nowadays, it is so complicated to understand any job's potential to make anyone successful due to two main reasons.

First, many factors can affect a career and its capability of leading anybody to a better future. In the past, employers just demanded the employees to fullfil a specific task and if they could mange to perform it right, their position was almost gaurenteed. However, now, numerous parameters like employee's innovativeness, creativity, contribution in related assignments and attitude toward customers can alter their way in making sure that this is the perfect job which can secure their future. For example, my friend, Jim, used to work in a dining hall and he assumed that he can easily become a master chief there in a couple of years, since his father did the same job and promoted to managing partner in a restaurant after a couple of years. In contrary, he had not even assigned to a bigger branch after five years. When, he asked his boss about the reason about his situation, his boss mentioned that it is different now and we pay attention to many detailed factors in order to put the best person in the most suitable position.

Second, there are a lot of different occupations present in today's market that it practically becomes hard for job seekers to identify if this is the appropriate job for them that aligns with their interests completely. For instance, I always liked to work in a chemical lab and I finally found a job in a petrochemical company. In contrast, when I attended the job, I recognized that in spite of the fact that they mentioned in their advertisement that they need someone who can work in a lab environment, they wanted a business analyst who can predict the new chemical products price that were synthesized in the company. So, I came to understand that today’s careers can not easily decide the answer to the question that is it the perfect job for me or not.

In conclusion, it is important for people to know if their career is the best option which can guide them to success. This decision is becoming more difficult in recent years because of numerous reasons like the job owners higher expectations and jobs expanded definition from a specific skill.