Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a doubt, independency has been one the most important concerns of every individual through history, and it is critically important that people be able to make decision about their own lives. While many believe that in comparison with the past, young people are more independent in order to make decision, others disagree with this idea. I strongly believe that nowadays, youth are more independent from family attachments and are able to manage their life better. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, thanks to technological advances and emergence of the internet, which provides a great deal of information, parents are more concern about raising independent children. In other words, the internet pays an influential role in educating people. For instance, parents now are more concern about how to raise confident and self-supporting children. in this regard, they are provided by a vast range of books, tutorials and online courses which encourage them to let their children make their own decisions from childhood. For example, it is an accepted fact that children should be allowed to choose the color of their cloths, their toys, and even decide about which school they want to enroll. Moreover, in comparison with few decades ago, parents are more preoccupied with their personal activities, like their own jobs, needing more time, therefore they are willing to raise their children in a way they can deal with their personal issues.

Furthermore, life in the past was more limited and people had to obey their parent’s decision in different aspects, like marriage. In contrast, nowadays, life has been changing in many aspects in which lead to encouraging people to live their life with the least attachments to families. For example, going to college and university abroad is one of the changes that now is considered normal. consequently, youth are provided by a lot of opportunity in which there are free to make decision and consult with their peers instead of their family and parents. These days, teenagers and young adult easily insist on things they are interested in, from life-style, their major of study or their career. Consequently, all these changes lead people to have a more independent life in which they practice decision making on every given day. As a result, the more the people are get to make decision, the better they are bale to manage their life.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that in comparison with past, young people now living a freer life from their family attachments, and are able to make better decision. The emergence of the internet has helped parents to raise their children more independently, on top of that altering lifestyle inevitably result in more independent people. Today's life offers a huge range of option like going to college abroad which provide the platform of self-supporting people.