Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, parents not only provided their children with a supportive environment to live in but also tried to nurture them appropriately. One of the most challenging topics on which there is no consensus is about the dependency of children on their parents. Opinions are divided into whether in the past youths decided independently, or they are more independent currently. When it comes to me, it is my firm conviction that adolescents and youths have more freedom in order to choose arbitrarily. To support this, there are several reasons, two of which are going to be aptly explored in the following essay.

First and foremost, these days, young people are interested in learning and cultivating their knowledge conspicuously. This leads to a higher number of graduate students and eventually prospers society. As a result, most of the students surpass their parents' level of expertise and become superior to them in cognitive and intellectual ability. This contributes to being less reliant on their parents and stands on their feet. Take my personal experience as a compelling example of this. A couple of years ago, my father persuaded me to attend a university and broaden my horizon; then he shared his own experience that when he left school and college, he became noticeably dependent on his parents because they were strict and as my father had abandoned the school, he was not able to recognize the true decision. In consequence, he was almost dominated by my grandfather. Had I not started university, I would not reach this level of independence.

Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that with the growth of technology, people have been seeking new ways and job opportunities to being paid. When an individual finds a new job, he/ she is not going to count on his/her parents' financial support anymore, and become independent financially is a decisive factor in one's improvement and flourishing. Without a shadow of a doubt, when a person's budget stretch enough to afford a product, he/she can make his/her choice whether to purchase it or postpone it for a better time.

In summary of what has been illustrated and discussed in detail, it is a foregone conclusion that young people have more authority to perform as they desire. The fact that they are highly educated, coupled with an influx in job positions, is the reason which strengthens my claim.