Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Making decisions plays a pivotal role in young people's lifetime, which may influence far-reaching in their future. It has triggered the debated issue as to whether young people nowadays have more chance to make decisions by their themselves. My view is that today young people relative possibly make decisions than people in the past decades. More reasons and examples might be shed light on as follows.

First and foremost, nowadays young people are able to acquire innumerable information in the short time, and it can beneficial for them to make decision. Thanks to the ever-changing advance of technology and science, the Internet provides young people a convenient way to search for plenty of information which they do the choices depended on. Take my experience as an example, when I chose what professional department in the college, I can easily search the Internet to find the website of each department's introduction and recommendations from other people. Thus, I can confidently determine the department and do not regret my decision.

In addition, Young people have got more freedom from their parents and society, which induce them to pursue their decision. It is because that no one will interfere with young people's decisions anymore, which is rare to see in the past decades. Parents recently encourage their children to think more and be responsible for their own choice, which helps them learn more experience. However, young people in the past frequently were forced to listen to their parents' opinions, and the atmosphere of the whole society insisted to comply with parents' suggestions because they considered that it was more respectful. Young people at that time could only give up their genuine decisions to sustain the relationship with their parents. Hence, young people nowadays are easier to make decisions by themselves.

Last but not least, money is an essential role in making own decisions, and young people in the past had less money. Long-term poverty is a serious predicament for people who expect to do whatever they want, but young people usually have no possession to achieve decisions they make even they were in the past. Young people in the past had to grapple and wrestle with the adversity of poverty so that they did not have attention to achieve their goals and usually yield to the suggestion from their parents. For instance, my uncle expected to study abroad for his bachelor's degree, but my grandfather had no money to afford his school's tuition. Hence, he chose to study in a normal university that does not need tuition and has an extra allowance.

In conclusion, young people in the past decades had to make decisions by their parents' suggestions, while nowadays are able to determine by themselves. Information searching, freedom from society and parents and money have influence deeply to whether young people can make decisions by their own.