Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People communicate with each other less than in the past because of the popularity of television. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Throughout history, television had different roles in people’s life. Several years ago, our grandparents watched it as a news source, however, nowadays, we consider television as an entertainment source, and we spend a lot of time in front of it. Therefore, some people believe that because of television people communicate with each other less than in the past. I concur with this view, and in the following, I will elucidate my rationale by advancing two reasons.

First, nowadays, television has become so attractive, therefore we spend time on it instead of speaking with our families and friends. There is a myriad number of amazing TV shows, moves, cartoons, and documentary movies on the television, as a result, we need a lot of time to watch them, therefore, we prefer to scarify the time that we should spend being together with real people. For example, a recent study undertaken by the University of Tehran showed that people spend 50 percent of their free time watching television. For instance, my parents are crazy about tv shows. They prefer to watch some kind of silly television shows instead of listening or speaking to me.

Second, by spending time watching television people have not enough time to do some activities that connect them. People can do exercise and different physical games to communicate, but they choose to watch tv. For example, I remember when I was a kid, my grandparents had some kind of exercise schedule. They had a passion for sports, and this passion made them get involved in society and speak with other people, but my parents have not time to do exercise, therefore, they spend hours in front of their dear TV, and they don’t have good communications even with their neighbors. This example shows how because of television people are alone.

All in all, television had a serious effect on how people get lonely because they watch innumerable attractive TV programs, and they prefer to spend time for tv instead of getting involved in the activities that socialize them.