Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers.

I agree with the statement that playing computer games is a waste of time. Technological advancements have lead to an increase in many positive and negative points one of which is the increase in the number of computer games, the effects of which are stated below.

Firstly, computer games are very addictive. Once a child gets the hang of it and starts enjoying it, he/she is often glued to the computer screen. The physical activity is reduced completely. With no physical activity, it gives birth to many medical issues, like, obesity. Obesity is growing in children and teenagers at an alarming rate. This obesity then causes other problems of cholesterol, asthma and fatigue. The effects of this are not visible in the early years, but they start hitting and hurting in the later years of life. Along with obesity, since there is no exposure to natural light and ventilation, Vitamin D deficiency is caused. Long hours are spent playing these games, with no track of time. such durations can result in hampered eye sight. The content of the games may sometimes be unsuitable for that particular age group, causing mental trauma.

Secondly, other than the medical issues, the time spent is not always fruitful. It involves negligible brain activity, making the brain slowly redundant. Whiling away the time becomes a habit and the entire day is spent doing nothing leading towards mental and physical growth. The computer games are usually single player, hence the social interaction that children need to develop during their formative growth years is lost. An introvert personality is developed in the kids. Sudden social interactions and meeting are feared since all their time is spent hiding behind their computer screen, interacting with no one but only the device.

Thirdly, computer games can be made effective and useful if the children are introduced to good efficient games, therefore being a productive use of their time. Games which involve learning activities like interactive maths sessions or group studies which are small quizzes can stir up an interest to learn along with entertainment. The stigma of social interactions can thus be eliminated.

To conclude, children should be encouraged to go out and play. Technology should be introduced at a slower rate such that the time is productively utilised. Computer games should be allowed but with time restrictions and proper monitoring.