Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

I agree with the statement that computer games are wasting our kids' time. Electronic games do not promote kids' physical or psychological abilities. The games also have many side effects and encourage violence.

First, computer games suppress kids' physical and psychological skills. Kids spend a long time on screens as they keep playing electronic games. Therefore, kids will not practice sports or play outdoors. Also, these games cause a kind of addiction to the screen. Kids will tend to play a longer time than the previous session. For instance, my nephew is ten years old. He was a great lover for outside activities like biking, racing, and hiking. Once he started playing these computer games. All outdoor activities have stopped. Then he couldn't stop playing until sleep time. His physical appearance is worsening by time, and his psychological dependence on these games caused him anxiety.

Secondly, Computer kids enhanced the prevalence of some diseases, such as ADHA. The attention-deficit syndrome diminishes kids' attention and causes deterioration in their academic progress.

For example, as a pharmacist, I noticed the high number of prescriptions for ADHA medications. When I talked with some pediatricians, they confirmed that most kids with this syndrome are playing computer games more frequently. When I spoke to the kids' parents, they complained about their kids' struggles in school. Moreover, The harmful side effects of these medications that kids have to take forever will create more health problems for them later on.

Finally, computer games promote violence, especially in kids. Most of these games have scenes show kids that violence is fun.

The battles scenes and using gun machines are prevalent in electronic games. When kids are exposed highly to these severe actions, their subconscious will perceive that killing and harmful acts are enjoyable. For example, To win in most of these games, kids need to kill their opponent on the screen. Therefore, the killing will be desirable in kids' minds. Consequently, we can see the high number of the school shooting, and it keeps going up. Kids could convert into criminals by the violence they practice in these games.

In conclusion, I believe that computer games are harmful to kids. These games promote violence and suppress their physical and psychological abilities. Therefore parents should ban these games and replace them with other age-appropriate toys.