Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that governments’' decisions have had a significant impact on the way people of a society live. In this regard, one controversial question is whether governments should provide internet access for the people at no cost like what they do in other areas such as building roads or not. I firmly believe that it is not only better for the governemts but also for the people to have a free access to the internet. To support this there are myriads of reasons, two of which are going to be aptly elucidated through the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the most prominent reason that comes to my mind is the fact that by having a costless access to the internet, people and business owners are able to not only create new lines of business in order to enlarge the circle of the economy, but also develop and expand their current business. In fact, since nowadays poeple, regrdless of their age, use their cell-phones and personal computers more intensely for fulfilling their various tasks and also having fun, they are more dependent on the internet for their daily life. This will create a huge opportunity for the governments to invest in the internet infrastructure to utilize this opportunity. That governments allocate their budget to provide free internet access for the people of society will lead those people to use their minds to elevate production level of their country as a whole. After implementing this method, the first organization who benefits is the government because it can collect more taxes with which could invest in more profitable projects. For instance, working as data scientist in an internet based start-up three years ago, I realized that the company's high level managers were struggling with a serious issue which hindered their progress toward their goals. After a while, the government announced that they are going to provide national internet for all of the people at no cost. Soon, as a result, the company could increase its sale level owing to the fact that there were more poeple who could make purchases using the free internet access. Having allocated a proportion of its budget to provide interent for the people at no cost, the government not only could create more business opportinities for the people and companies, but also could collect higher taxes to fill its budget defecit. Had the governemt not taken those steps, it might not have been possible for internet-based start-ups to reach their goals and have a broader market.

Furthermore, another noteworthy reason that should be taken into account is that by doing this, the government set the stage for the people to enjoy a better communication experience. if people have no need to go to other locations to connect with others, the need for things like building roads will diminish, and the government can use the saved money for running other useful projects which are more beneficial for all members of the society such as education.

To sum up, taking all the aforementiond reasons to account, one can conclude that it seems a wise decision to provide free internet access for the whole society. The more people have access to the internet, the more the governemt and the peopel will benefit.