Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, internet has had a great influence on life style. No question will remain without answer by use of internet. Although many people believe that internet provides them with valuable information, I strongly disagree with this. In my opinion many problems can be arose by using too much internet. I provide you three reason to support this idea:

First of all, some information in the internet are not accurate and complete. For instance, when a drug is searched through internet, usually benefits of the drug will be found more than side effects, while, these are more important to know because, the can develop life threatening problems for the person consuming that drug. Thus, I think the information on the internet are good but it is not complete enough. The internet should be used only as supplemental resource of information. In the example above, it is more beneficial to ask a pharmacist about a drug.

In addition, exposure to a lot of information without having background about the topic is confusing and can lead to make wrong decisions. For example, when someone wants to buy a new car, the first resource he uses to search about advantages and disadvantages of different cars is the internet. However there are a lot of detailed information on the internet which most of them are even not necessary to know and it is almost impossible to distinguish more essential information without having knowledge about various aspects of the cars. That is why I believe that torrents of information through the internet can be problematic.

Another reason is that a lot of information may cause people to worry about everything in life and can be stressful. For instance, when a person read about disease in the internet, he will always worry about getting that disease and this stress has such a strong effects on body and mind that increase the possibility of getting that disease. I remember when I was intern at hospital, I searched each case that I saw in the internet to learn more about that case. However, as I studied more signs and symptoms, I tried to find them in my body and when one of them was found, I freaked out and thought that I got that disease. For this reason, in my view, knowing more than enough about everything is not a good life style, which is one of the results of easy access to internet in these days life of people.

In conclusion, because of inaccuracy of information in the internet, confusion the stress caused by that, I think access to much information can be problematic in modern life.