Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Psychology has proved that the mainstay of individuals' characters is built during their younghood. A question that might arise here is that are teachers more influential on students or it is their friends that play the main role. Personally, though, I am of the strong conviction that the latter is correct. To support this, there are several reasons, two of dominant which, are discussed in detail in the following.

First and foremost, students spend most of their time with their friends rather than their teachers. If they go to the same school, they get to see each other in the classrooms for at least eight hours a day. In addition, it is very likely for them to spend more time after school hours hanging out and playing to an appreciable extent. Therefore, they might simply affect each other. The way they talk and behave in society would be influenced significantly and their thinking pattern tends to become similar as naturally, when people spend time together, they make discussions and exchange ideas sometimes on a subconscious level and young students are no exception. However, this is not the case for teachers. They are often unable to put adequate time and effort necessary to shape students’ characters.

Furthermore, students have more trust in their peers in comparison to their teachers. This stems from the fact that once individuals acknowledge that they share similar perspectives regarding certain problems, they build a tendency towards having more trust in that person. Once they realize the person they are talking to is capable of putting himself in their shoes, they start to believe that this very person is competent enough to share their world with. As a consequence, a good rapport would be established, and automatically, when you have a nice relationship with someone, you drop your guards. This increases the chances of being influenced by that person more easily. Since students are more trustworthy towards each other, they are susceptible to be influenced by their friends on a great level.

To wrap it up, contemplating what was discussed above, students are more influenced by their friends than their teachers. This is because they spend most of their time with their friends and thus, they exchange ideas during those times and affect each other. Moreover, as students trust their friends more than their teachers, they share their worldviews, interest, and concerns and this cause students to be under the influence of their friends.