Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important that we make an indelible impact in everyone's life we come in contact with. This would portray us as people people of influence and will even make us happy. Personally, I believe that teachers are more influential in student's life than friends. There are two reasons why I feel this way which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, a student needs not just knowledge to fulfill his academic goals, certain skill or the other is also required and this can be learnt from teachers. One may argue that we can learn a skill from a friend, but has the friend not assumed the position of a teacher the moment he imparts knowledge into us?. So, it is safe to state that teachers influence us more than friends do. I would like to support this point with a compelling illustration. During my final year of study in the university, I was to carry out an investigation into the geotechnical properties of some tailings samples in my undergraduate thesis. The project required a grand understanding of python programming language. I found it rather difficult to go about my investigation because I had a subpar knowledge of python programme. Therefore, I discussed my plight with Professor John, one of my lecturers and he was willing to be of help. The professor took me through the nitty-gritty of creating the required model for my project using python programme. It was such an exhaustive five weeks of tutorial with him. I was indeed taken by professor's willingness to dedicate such time for me despite the fact that he was not my thesis supervisor. I completed my undergraduate research successfully and the paper was even published in a reputable journal. This example clearly illustrates the extent to which my teacher was influential in my life.

Furthermore, certain life changing opportunities can come to us through teachers. Our instructors supposedly have wide range of experience on how students can navigate academic path and make use the best of it. For instance, upon the completion of my first degree, I was on look out for post graduate scholarships that would sponsor my master's degree abroad. Through Dr. Mrs Helen, my high school geography tutor, I got to know about commonwealth shared scholarship to the United Kingdom. She, infact wrote a recommendation letter for me and I was eventually selected for the fully funded scholarship. Had I not kept in contact with Helen, my school teacher, I may not have maximized the life-changing scholarship opportunity.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the impacts that teachers have in student's life surpasses that made by a friend. This is because a student can acquire more than knowledge from his teacher and through teachers, excellent opportunities can come to a student - such that a friend may not be able to afford.