Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Playing an indispensable role in both individual and professional lives of all people, learning has been of the first-rate importance for all people. However, there are a different kind of ways that we can learn and expand our knowledge. A question that might arise, with respect to this fact, is whether or not teachers who are responsible for teaching us knowledge are less appreciated nowadays. Personally, I am of the conviction that Teachers are less appreciated by society. Not only, are not the role they play to expand our knowledge that much bold, but also, there are more jobs than before.

To commence with, teachers in the past, played an important role and children had to go to school to learn what they really needed to their lives. Strictly speaking, the teachers were one way and also the only way you could expand your knowledge. But nowadays, with the advent of technology, people are less interested in going to school. To delineate, there is also a tendency among people to learn through experiencing and academic stuff that our teachers teach to us are less important to us, too. To illustrate, research done by German researchers reveals that people in the future will not attend any classes. That being so, the role of teachers that they had in our lives are going to be less important to us and the result of that is we will not value their works.

Another justification lending credence to the argument is the variety of jobs that nowadays exist. Broadly speaking, the individuals who were teachers had high social status among people because there were not many jobs. To elucidate, people who were highly educated find teaching more important that they chose to be a teacher to pass through their knowledge to other people. Making money was less important to them that it is nowadays. That being so, people really appreciated their vocation. Over the course of time, the importance of the teacher's calling decreased among people and after several years, being teacher was not the sign of high education anymore. As I recall, my mother was so proud that she once was a teacher and all my family member respect her so much. But my teachers in a school are not being valued anymore among us.

Drawing upon the reasons, I am convinced that nowadays teachers are less valued by society than they were in the past. However, the teachers still play an important role in expanding our knowledge and teach us the fundamental basics of life. For that fact, I strongly recommend that people should value their teachers as they did in the past. In this way, our children would flourish.