Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children(aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Children born in the 21st century are more attracted to gadgets with screens than any other teenagers are. One can see how quickly they understand the use of these gadgets by observing and learning from their surrounding adults. This seems a bit scary; hence, I personally believe that young kids between the ages of two to five should be protected from the traps of these television advertisements. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, if adults like us who have experienced and observed this fast growing world and knowing subconsciously that marketing and advertising companies design and portray their advertisement in such a way that even the smartest gets lured into the television screen. Then what do you think will have an effect on the young generations? My personal experience is a compelling example of this. My younger brother was 5 years old, when I was 12 years old. Since we had recently moved to our new house and he being a shy kid did not have many friends. Therefore, he would stay in the house after school watching television shows with my mother. After a point, I noticed that he too got addicted to watching these shows and started adopting the behavior characteristics of the characters in the show. My father was not happy about it and suggested my mother to limit his exposure to the television. However, my mother during that point did not take the situation so seriously until one day he saw an advertisement for an Apple iPhone and just could not stop from nagging about it to my parents to buy for him. That day we all realized that how naïve these young children are and what influence a simple advertisement can have on their minds.

Secondly, there are programs and master’s degree courses for studying marketing and advertising. The advertising moto of any big company is to attract customers. Nevertheless, who is there to say whether the practices of these advertising agencies is fair enough? In simple words, companies want to earn money and with the fast-growing competitive world, everybody just wants to earn quick money not caring about the people around us. For instance, it took almost 25 years for the Indian government to realize that how demeaning and narrow-minded the advertisement of glowing cosmetics was until the Supreme Court passed an order to ban this insulting practice. Unfortunately, these kinds of advertising left a mark on the citizens of India that fair-tone people are better looking as compared to dark.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that we should protect our younger children from these advertisements. This is because it could have a detrimental influence at a very early age, which could cause a severe problem in the long run, and also because the motivation of every advertisement is to attract customers but there is little to no supervision of how ethical these advertisements are.