Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Money for Sports Activities

A student’s education does not only consist of learning academic subjects. It is also important for students to develop other skills, such as teamwork, and healthy habits that will last them a lifetime. One way to do this is to encourage more participation in sports activities. Although it is important to provide adequate funding for academic services such as the school library, I believe it is important to fund sports activities equally.

A student’s primary education goal is to pursue knowledge. Therefore, the school library is very important. However, the resources that a library buys are long-lasting. In addition, students now have resources other than the school library to support their studies. For example, many have their own computers and access to the Internet. Sports activities, on the other hand, require some investment every year. Equipment wears out and needs to be replaced more often than library resources. Furthermore, a school that provides good athletic equipment for its students will find that they are more willing to participate in physical activities. Since these activities are also an important part of their education, the importance of good equipment cannot be ignored.

Ideally, a school should provide its students with a well- balanced education that helps them develop all of their skills. For this reason, it is important that schools do not ignore sports activities. Setting aside more money for these activities will help schools to develop better physical education programs and encourage more students to participate in them.