Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I believe, interacting with the project partners and colleagues during the execution process of a project leads to better quality works. I will discuss my reasonings in the following essay.

First, a face to face discussion leads to better understandings, all involved personell can be present and talk about their issues and ideas. members of the team can explain their points by using different ways and objects available during a face to face meeting. For example, in my time as a masters student whenever I went to my advisor to talk about issues concerning my thesis I would ask my questions and he would explain the issue and even draw different charts to help me understand the problem. He could even figure out if I understood the point by my facial expressions in many occasions elaborating on the issue after pointing out that my face was blank.

Second, during interactive conversations there are faster responses to questions, while in many occasions the answer to emails are recieved hours maybe even days after they are asked. taking one of my professors as an example, I would show them my results and he would comment on different issues there and then, but during the pandemic I had to contact him using emails. I would send several emails to them asking their opinion about a part of my project but the answer would come after weeks had passed pointing out issues, this would delay my work by a lot taking into consideration that I had went onto the wrong path in the weeks there was no response.

Third, when the communication is done in person there is minimal filtering. When emailing somebody we filter out points that have low probability of being important like an idea that we think is not plausible but would have considered saying it during a face to face discussion. many such ideas actually may be ingenieous but due to self filtering no one would hear them. for example, one of my friends had an idea for a data mining application but did not talk about it until a month later during the monthly meeting. in the meeting the boss was so impressed by the idea saying that it would have made a bigger difference if it was brought up only a week sooner and they would have saved a lot of time by applying it.

Based on the above reasonings communicating with colleagues in person is better than communicating by email.