Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A zoo has no useful purpose. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

I do not agree with the viewpoint that zoo has no useful purpose. In my opinion, zoo bridges the gap between humans and wildlife. People might get to see animals which are on the brink of extinction and hence make them understand that there are only fewer species left, so everyone should take an initiative to preserve what we are left with. There are many reasons due to which I believe that zoo is of utmost importance and will be explaining these reasons in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, zoo is a place where people get to experience wildlife and make them realize how important it has become to preserve wildlife. Many developing nation do not care about wildlife or nature in order to build high-class infrastructure. These nations do not give priority to endangered species and hence it is very important to have zoo, as this is the only place left where people can spot endangered species.

Secondly, zoo can help school children understand the conditions in which wildlife animal can survive. This is important because, an academic book knowledge of a particular place can never be compared with the experience that one might get by actually visiting that place. This, in turn, will encourage students to spread awareness about wildlife and make other people understand the importance of wildlife.

Additionally, the government would be beneficial by developing a zoo as they might be able to generate revenue. Developing a world class zoo with many endangered species would encourage people to visit the country. Preserving wildlife will help scientists and many other researchers find new ways or conditions in which wildlife can be preserved. Researchers might even suggest ways where the population of endangered species can be increased.

In short, I personally feel that zoo can benefit humans in various sector and therefore they should be given the most priority. According to me every state should develop a zoo with world class facility and morden infrastructure so that it would be easiser for the animal to adapt.