Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a debate among people on whether students in all universities should be required to take history courses no matter what their major is. I believe that, all students in universities should be taught history. that is because, students can learn about the past and familiarize themselves with some history events. Therefore, in this way, they can gain some experiences, and decide wisely in case of similar event. I will delve into the most important reasons of mine in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, it is very important for each student to know about their history. In other words, taking history courses at university and learn about the past events and generation can help them to analyze the same situation, such as political, social and economical in the society. therefore they can take action properly. my personal experience is a good example of this. about ten years ago, when I was a bachelor student in geology, the university forced us to take a three credits history course, and it was compulsory for all students in every field of study. However, at first, I was unhappy with that, several years later I could use one of the things in my life, and it really helped me. I studied one lesson about the society’s political behaviour in that history course. Consequently, I was able to use the knowledge in favor of myself for parliament election. I had learned about the people’s taste and interests over the history. therefore, I chose my election’s promises and actions carefully. Finally, I got accepted as the main candidate in our city.

Second, studying the history, can familiarize the students with the events. Thus, it helps them to decide wisely when a similar situation happens to them. Alternatively stated, taking history courses at university make the students know more their community and the past, and be more responsible toward their society and people. For instance, a student who knows his country’s history and people, may be in the future he will be in charge in different parts of government. Accordingly, he can assist his society by making right decisions. knowing the history and the events can help him not to make wrong decision, or similar bad decisions which may have negative consequences for the country.

Based on aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that it is very essential for students in all universities and with all majors to take history courses and know about their past. that is due to, it will help them in the future to gain some experiences, make right decisions and decide wisely. therefore, they can avoid some bad decisions which may have negative effects on their society.