Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Even though there is a prevailing view that just libraries and other educational systems should receive financial support, I strongly recommend that government should pay more attention to social activities because of three main reasons. Social activities such as sports have direct effects on health of the community. In addition, we need them to intensify our culture and social relationship. And believe it or not, we need them to strengthen our policy with government.

First of all, having a healthy community obviously depends on the rate of social activities within that community. Exercises and sports significantly protect us against many diseases and detrimental effects of modern technology such as computer, television and car transportation. Moreover, if we improve our physical and mental health and our well-being, therefore we can achieve our goals and we can learn better. For instance, my company dedicates money for some activities such as sports. We can go to club two days in a week and when we come back we have a lot of energy, vigor, and vitality so that we can see its effects on our efficiency and our productivity.

Moreover, if we see a community with high cultural values and great civilization, we can find a lot of social activities there. Nowadays technology, television and other media have a considerable influence on our cultural values. Nevertheless, we can’t disregard effects of some social activities. For example, there are some NGO groups that effort to collect debris and contaminants from mountains and shores. These groups are representatives of a civilized society.

Last but not least, as all of us know in modern societies everyone has a prominent role in politics, for this reason some parties and groups must be existed to educate people. One of the key factors in democracy is having different parties. We need them; because we must increase our knowledge and information about the social institutions, legislation, foreign policies and social norms to choose reliable and responsible candidates.

All things considered, health, culture and politics are dramatically relied on social activities. As an engineer my primary concerns are lack of social activities. Nonetheless, as I became more sophisticated over the years, my preferences and my conceptions may be gradually changed.