Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

These days the issue that the university should spend money to support students’ sport activities just as it invests in libraries, is drawing many different ideas. Some people think that students only need to learn in books. Others believe that it is important for students to have good health from playing some sports and having some social activities. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the second concept, for two reasons.

First of all, good health is a prerequisite for students in studying. Playing sports is a helpful recreation for students after stressful working in class. To be more specific, in the university, students often have to take various courses. They need to work hard; therefore, sometimes they are stressed by plenty of papers and examinations. In this case, spots activities, such as basketball, volleyball and jogging are great opportunities for students to fortify themselves and learn more effectively.

Another reason is that sports activities enable students to develop their relationships with other students and faculty, and also bring other universities together. The more we connect with many people the more we are able to make more friends and prepare better for our future success. For example, when I was in nursing college, I went to another university to take a volleyball course. It was an awesome chance for me to meet a lot of students who studied the same major as mine. As a result, we became good friends. We shared our experience and supported one another in our work later on.

I am impressed with the quote which was written by Thomas Jefferson that says “A strong body makes the mind strong”. I believe that this saying is true; thus, the university should support more sports activities for students because playing sports does not only invigorate the body of students but also helps them to learn as best as they can, and from sports activities, students are able to extend their connections to others.