Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reasons

Generally speaking students at universities and colleges are involved in several academy and extracurricular activities. The issue of whether social activities and sports are just as relevant as classes and libraries, which should be equally financially supported is a very controversial one. On one hand, supporters of this maintain that sports and social activities help students to improve the concentration and also are beneficial for students health. On the other hand, critics of this claims that social activities and sports do not have the same relevance as classes and libraries. I maintain the opinion that sports and social activities are very beneficial for students.

To begin with, sport and social activities at colleges and universities help students improving concentration, which is very important on this level education. Students could be under extreme pressure when they have to study for many subjects at the same time. Other situations, like living a dorm with other students and work in a part time job to pay university expenses represents some of the students new challenges. Sports could help to release stress and students become more comfortable on campus. For example, when I studied Pharmacy in the University of Havana in Cuba I took six classes in my freshman year, that was a complete disaster. Although I did not failed on any of them on the first semester It represents a challenged for me. At the beginning of the second semester my Math professor made me a suggestion about to join the volleyball team because she knew that I felt a lot of passion for that sport. After a month practicing volleyball I realized that I was able to pay more attention to my regular classes. Also I improve my grades in a very significant way which help me to get a internship in chemistry. I really recommend that universities should support financially sports as well as they do with classes and libraries.

In addition, students at universities and colleges could receive important health benefits practicing sports and participating in social activities. Even though universities and colleges give students a well balance nutrition at the cafeteria, some of them prefer to order junk fast food in other to gain time to study. For instance, social activities and sports could be very beneficial for students health. For example, if universities plan in their curricular activities a mandatory time for sports it would encourage students to practice sports and prevent them to suffer from high blood pressure, obesity or diabetes. Social activities in the community are extremely important in order to move out students from campus. There are not doubt that sports and social activities improve students life at universities and colleges.

In conclusion, although some oppose to the financial support to sports and social activities should be the same as class and libraries, I maintain that universities and colleges should do. I think that every university or college should join efforts in order to support sports and social activities.