Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

The question is whether sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries or not and should receive equal financial support or not. As far as I’m concerned, I think sports and social activities are equally important as classes and libraries and should receive equal support from the universities and colleges. I think this way for several important reasons.

At first, not all the students are going after specific career path like engineering or doctor. An updated library will be a prerequisite of an advanced or postgraduate degree but it is not mandatory for every student. Some of them may choose their career in acting, debating or photography. it is the responsibility of the university to create an equal platform for every student so that they can identify their talent and choose a career path in that direction. For instance, in my university, there is a photographic club patronized by the professors. The club organizes different national and international photographic competition from which several hidden photographer has been revealed. so, sports and other social activities are important for the student’s development as same as classes and libraries.

Secondly, physical and spiritual condition of a student plays a significant role on how he/she interacts with others and how active a student is in his/her study. sports can make a student feel better from the monotony of their daily routine and keep them fit and strong. Our country have got several athlete in an early age during their study period. For example, take Ashraful Rahman, cricketer of Bangladesh national cricket Team. this was not possible if the college authority did not recognize his talent from the inter college cricket tournament. so, the universities and colleges should organize such programs and treat with equal financial support.

In summary, sports and social activities are important factors that helps the students in being physically and spiritually motivated towards their regular study life and should receive equal support financially as like classes and libraries.