Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern world, people have a myriad of opportunities to enjoy their lives. Personally, I think that today, people are happier than it was in the past. There are a few reasons why I hold this stance.

First of all, nowadays, we can travel and explore the world in a higher degree than our ancestors did. These days, available education gives people opportunities to excel. A person, who graduated a college has a better job than those who did not go to an institution, and so, he or she is financially superior. An educated individual can afford to travel all around the world. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I am a pharmacist and have a well-paid job, which helps me not only to support my family but also to spend my time off in the way I would like to. Travelling is my passion and every year I have a trip to a new destination. In this way, I have visited many astonishing places and a lot more to come. On the other hand, my parents, who did not have a chance to attend a university and obtain a profession when they were young, did not have extra money to voyage. Moreover, the transportation at their time was not as progressive as it is now. That is why I believe that life is more interesting now than it was before.

Secondly, contemporary technology provides us with tools for communication. The development of the Internet and social networking sites has made it possible for people to stay in touch with those, who are important for them. Facebook, Skype, and Instagram are just a few examples of software applications and websites, which help people to communicate actively. For instance, I have been living in the United States for three years, and although I am on the other end of the planet from my hometown, every day I can talk to my friends and family members through the Internet. Therefore, I participate in their lives constantly. Furthermore, every Christmas and a New Years Eve, I turn on Skype on my computer and suchwise, my family is celebrating with me. It warms my heart and makes me feel great. Conversely, my mother told me, when she was about twenty years old and moved to a big city, she could not have conversations with her parents often because the technology was not as advantageous as it is today. This example illustrates how better life has become.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that these days, people live happier lives in comparison to previous generations. This is because we have a lot of opportunities to explore other cultures and stay in touch with our beloved ones.