Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Nowadays, education plays an indispensable role in every student’s life. Contrary to the common statement that students should focus on one major and deeply learning, I firmly believe that students would have a better development, if they are equipped with various knowledge.Here are main reasons for my opinion.

Firstly, it is beneficial for students to have a clear insight into their careers of future.The reason is that students will realize what they are actually interested in by studying different subjects. Besides, in this way, students would be more specific to choose the career that is suitable for them, since the interests is the best teacher. Take myself as an example.When I was a freshman, I always bothered about what a kind of job should I have. Fortunately, after learning a variety of knowledge from different subjects, I argued that finance really attracted to me, and I extremely want to be an accountant. To a degree, if I set up a goal, I would work harder than ever before.Therefore, it is an appropriate way for students to learn various knowledge.

Secondly, students would make new friends more easily if they have a broad knowledge.it is because that when meet with a stranger, students are always feel embarrassed due to the fact that they almost have no common topic with each other. Therefore, if students have different kinds of knowledge, they could chat with new friends easily with the confident mood, since students are familiar with every topic people put forward. here is a case. my sister, Ann, was a kind girl who had many friends from different major at college. I was surprised that she has a really amazing interpersonal skill.However, after chatting with her, I started to understand the reason why she had magical power to be popular is that she attended various classes to learn different knowledge, and it is easy for her to make new friends due to the same major. Without the support of broad knowledge, students are more likely to miss the opportunity to make more new friends.

Admittedly, students concentrated on one major are more likely to get offer from the company because they deeply learn much detailed knowledge in a specific field. however, under the rapidly change of social development, more and more companies completely need the compounds talents, since people could own more effective methods to overcome the difficult with the help of the broad knowledge.

In a word, studying various subjects have a positive effect on our lives. therefore, I contend that students should learn broad knowledge to enrich themselves.