Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As we all live on the same planet directly or indirectly we affect each other’s lives. Personally, I believe that it is crucial to be aware of world events, even if they are not connected to you. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in following essay.

First of all, as a social being we have to be know about actions around us, to be concerned about what may happen to us. We may think that some revolution in other country will not make a change in our lives; however, it may have an impact to our government which absolutely is able to disturb our routine. My personal experience is a compelling example for this. This summer while watching news with my parents I heard that in one of the neighboring countries people raised a protest; I did not give any meaning to this action, because it had nothing to deal with me. However, after couple of week in my citizens of my town went on protest about the same issue it was before in neighbors. I was shocked, my mother did not let me to go out, so spent a week at home.

Secondly, it is never excessive to know a little bit more and it will advance our understanding of political structure of different countries. As we grow we need to develope our intelligence in variety of spheres, so analysis of current events in different locations well be beneficial for our mental growth. For instance, I am interested in world politics and in the future I want to become a politician, so knowing and analyzing actions and events out of my home country help me to understand the system and may be in the future I will be able to change the system to better one.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that awareness of world events is crucial in our lives. This is because it can somehow indirectly affect us, and it actually helps for mental development.