Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Making new or saving old friends have been always a place of debate among people in each society. There are a number of people who think that old friends must be saved forever, however, some others believe that making new friends are more exciting and rational. In my own perspective, I do believe that the first concept is more reasonable because of two reasons which are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

First of all, old friends are exactly like living memory, therefore, nobody wants to throw one part of his mind and previous life. All of us have numerous friend form our university periods with good and bad experiences but they are a part of our life and cannot be separated. My own experience is an interesting story. When I was studying at the university of New York, I had a roommate named Alex. We were always with each other and other students called us twins! This friendship continues for more than 10 years and the perfect part of it is that we are still in contact and get really long with each other. As a matter of fact, Alex in part of my life or even my character and it is not possible for me to neglect these amount of memories.

Secondly, hidden features of old friends start to appear step by step. In fact, few people reveal all their properties at the beginning of a relation. All human being are a little skeptical about their relations, as a result, we try to hide our real features from each other. An experimental investigation was carried out in my own country 3 years ago. It was a huge study to show whether people try to keep old friends or not. The results were surprisingly unbelievable. More than 85 percent of individuals, who take part in this survey, desire to protect their friends and avoid separation. The predominant reason for them was almost the same. They believe that by spending more time new features of friends will be observed. They also add that after some years we all know how to behave with each other and can be more helpful. This shows the value of the old friend.

In sum, above from aforementioned explanation, I do prefer that saving old friends seems more logical in comparison with making new ones. This is just because of the effect of time which result in better understanding and also being a part of our personal lives. That's why we should protect our old relations.