Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is crucial to grasp on ideas and notion for students as well as learn facts. Because both in one way or the other are interrelated. If student do not comprehend the main ideas of a topic then how can they learn facts about it.

For example, when i was taking Financial Reporting class, i was always informed to learn the accounting standards such as IAS 16 or IFRS 5 and so on. If i do not learn it then i will not be able to understand and thus will not be able to apply them in my studies. However, my teacher always taught us to understand them first and then we will automatically know how and where to apply them. For example, a machine costs $60 and it detroites every year and therefore, its value decreases over time, that is, it depreciates. So for us to know the fact that it depreciates we must understand first that because it detroites over time that is why its value depreciates.

Another example is in Law, people take real life cases as a reference in reaching a decision. How are they able to associate their present case to an existing one? Because they comprehended the existing case to the present one. For example, a hearing is in place for a young adult who got injured while riding the Ferris Wheel because he stick his hand out the window from the side that was exposed to the thick pillar like structures rotating. This was being ruled against the theme park that why they did not seal that side of the window. However, this was ruled against the young adult because it was understand from the existing cases of negligence that he was negligent and took his hand out even though there were warning signs placed inside the cubicle next to the window that do not stick out your hand'. If they were to rule on the basis of facts that the company should have sealed the window as normally theme parks do then it would have reached to a different conclusion.

Lastly, it is essential for students to understand the concept and ideas first rather just accept it as a fact because if they do not understand the main reason for the fact to be in place then how will they be able to relate any real life example to the fact. Let's take Darwin's theory as an example, based on the behavior of a monkey and human beings, he concluded that we humans were monkeys first. However, he was wrong because researches show that this is not the case and humans were in their original human forms by studying bones that were found and matching DNAs, they did this by researching and understanding not just by taking Darwin's theory as a fact.