Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People typically acquaint with different people in the workplace, university, library and so on every day. They sometimes cement a relationship and become friend for a long time. Therefore, when it comes to the question whether it is important to keep old friends than to make new friend, different people adopt different attitudes toward this question depending on their characters and educational backgrounds. On the one hand, there are people who adhere to belief that keeping old friend means more support when they have difficulties; on the other hand, others believe that making new friend has outstanding merits. As far as I am personally concerned, the latter carries further weights since not only does it help people to learn new things but also can people develop their social skills.

Humankind always tend to have new experiences and making new friends is the most exciting ones. In fact, people tend to make new friend since they are so curious and like to discover new stuffs such as new personality, skill and trait. Making new friend help people change their monotonous life to a happy life with a lot joyful moments. Moreover, having new friend means new skill is waiting for people to be learnt. For instance, people usually become friend with their colleagues to learn something about their work but they continue their friendship even after accomplishing their goals. Therefore, making new friend bring people new experiences with a lot of delightful moments.

Making new friend develop people’s social skills. In fact, having new friends means people have new ears to tell their life story and receive their opinion about their life. Moreover, people can share new stuffs with their new friends and have fun together. On the other hand, to make friend with new person people learn how become close to stranger and interact with them. For instance, there are people who are introverted and always like to be alone and becoming friend with such person required people to learn about the characteristics of such people. Therefore, their social skills will be developed during this process.

To wrap it up, making new friend not only does it help people to have more delightful life but also does it allow people to socialize and develop their social skills. But, people should also consider the fact that becoming friend with strangers have also its demerits such being abused for some personal goals.