Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recent decades have witnessed an unprecedented growth in modern technologies or computer science more specifically. As a result, the price of computer is so accessible that approximately every family in nowadays city can afford to own a computer. Besides, computer games have also become more realistic and fascinating, therefore increasingly more teenagers addicted to them according to the news. Thus, the question is raised that whether adolescents and children should be forbidden from the computer games. From my perspective, they should not be allowed to play video games.

To begin with, playing computer games will decrease their performances in school. For thing, students may not be able to concentrate in what they are learning. Because of the games, students’ brain will be filled with something like how be beat that boss, how to make more and better equipment etc. Owing to that reason, students will not follow what teachers is saying. While they are doing their homework, they cannot revise the knowledge points taught in the class and may fail their tests. For another, their time of doing homework will be shortened. For instance, some games are for players to finish some missions. When playing games, it is impossible for the students to stop half way and the time when the game will be finish is unknown as well, thus students will have no time to finish their homework. Without finishing homework, how can a student get a good mark at school?

In addition, computer games will reduce students time of socializing. Because every person have only twenty-four hours a day, if a person want to play video games, his time of finishing other things will be reduced. Among these reduced things, one of the most vital to a teenager is socializing. A teenager who play games all day at home will not go outside and socializing and it is bad for a teenager’s growth.

Furthermore, computer games are bad for a child’s formation of values. What is usually presented in the games are actions and imaginations. Research shows that it is violence that turns most ordinary teenagers into a notorious rogue. Besides, the words and sentences used by persons in the games are completely different from what we usually use in daily communication. Consequently, these teenagers will grow up without a precious ability to communicate with others and the ability to precisely express their thoughts. So, these teenagers may grow up alone because they do not how to communicate with others properly and loneliness is the major cause of many mental illnesses or even crimes.

In a nutshell, the demerits of playing video games are so huge that it will enormously affect teenager’s growth in harmful ways. There will not be any other matters that will do more harm to adolescents like computer games can do. I reiterate my standpoint that playing video games should be forbidden from children.