Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Work is an important part of our lives. We spend most of our time at work and make money from our jobs, so we should think about the ways of success. Some people believe that successful people always do things that they know how to do properly. In my view, success comes from innovation and doing new things for two reasons.

First, people learn more by doing new things. As you can imagine, when one does the same things for a while, he will not learn anymore because he understands everything. On the other hand, when people try new thing, although there are a lot of risks of failure, they will have more challenges and learn new things through that. For example, when I was in university, I studied electrical engineering, but I was interested in different subjects like physics and chemistry as well. Therefore, I took some courses in those areas, including the electromagnetics class which was very tough for me since I have limited basic information about that course. I was spending a lot more time than normal During the semester and learned related material, which helped me a lot to understand the concept of electromagnetic better. While I was doing my final thesis in last year, I used what I had learned from electromagnetics because my thesis had many in common with that subject. I think, If I had not taken that class, I would not have been able to do my thesis easily.

Second, people will receive more experience by doing new things in their lives. When one try something new, regardless of success and failure, he gets new experiences which can help him in the future. For instance, After graduation, I started my company in my major, though I had not enough experience to do that, I take a huge risk and opened my company. Unfortunately, I did not succeed with that job and I was forced to close my business after only one year. However, that job taught me many valuable tips about business; I got many experiences about managing employees, advertising, and trade. A couple of years Later, I retired to open my business and since I was experienced, I could get along with. I think, If I had not taken the risk, I would not have my business now.

In sum, people who take risks and experience new things will become a success. Not only, do they learn more knowledge, but they also get more experience than those that do the same thing.