Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, with the progress of technology and the advent of the new instruments, people's relations with each other has changed dramatically over the past few decades. With considering this in mind, it is incontrovertibly axiomatic that people have to keep in touch with each other. When it comes to this point, there is a heated controversy between individuals as to whether long term friendship is more important for happiness or the ability to make new connection readily. Personally speaking, I think the ability to maintain a good relationship is more enjoyable. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First of all, people can trust their old friends more in comparison to the person who has met recently. As far as I am concerned, spending time with reliable friends is more enjoyable since an individual can do every activity he wants without being worried about what his friends think about him. It is crystal clear that can an individual do his favorite activities in front of his friends, he will enjoy more of spending time with other people. My life is a compelling example of this. I have a lot of friends from the university, and we used to live together in the dormitory. We had a lot of unforgettable memories together, and now, after several years, we can do everything that we want in front of each other without being worry to be evaluated with others. In contrast, I cannot do these works when I spend time with my new friends that I have found in the workplace.

As a second noteworthy point of view to mention about the merits of maintaining the friendship with old friends is that spending time with old friends helps an individual to relieve his stress. As a matter of fact, people can speak about different problems with their old friends, which allows them not only to become calm and unwind but also to enjoy their time with their friends. Therefore, speaking and spending time with old friends is more advantageous since a person can talk about his current situation, and sometimes his friend can provide him several ideas that help him to tackle his problems. On the other hand, people are not willing to speak about their difficulties with people who they have met recently.

By way of conclusion, the analysis of the aforementioned ideas brings us to the point that keeping friendship with old friends is more enjoyable for an individual. This is because not only are old friends more reliable but also spending time with them helps people to alleviate their mental pains.