Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of modern society, people are facing with numerous and complicated relationships than before. Some people contend that it is important for people to maintain friendships with a small group of people over a long period of time rather than making new friends with many people in order to gaining happiness. From my perspective, the ability to build friendship easily is more significant under circumstance nowadays, and the reasons are as below.

First and foremost, in the contemporary society, people, especially the youngsters, are facing with plenty of difficult problems during their working time. When confronting with unfamiliar situation, people are more likely to find the help from others instead of searching by their own. so, if we have the ability to communicate with another peer in a comfortable way, then we are more likely to get information and help from them easily. From instances, if a employee are dealing with a problem without anyone's aiding, he will probably being distracted by plenty of unnecessary information, which can be taught by his superior or co-worker to avoid it.

Furthermore, the ability to making new friends easily is also the same way to maintain the relationships with old friends for a long time, which can help us to achieve happiness simultaneously. A survey conducted by Peking University shows that over 94.29% of people contend that they will be unfamiliar with their old friends after 6-8 month if no conversation. In this case, we hardly know anything about our old friends, including their favourite pop-stars, their new hobbies, or other basic changes that unknown to us, which means that we should rebuild those relationships as same as we have done to the new friend. Consequently, we are possessing a strong, authentic friendship again due to the ability of making new friends readily.

Admittedly, people tends to play with the person they met before, especially elder who are not willing to establish new relationship or accept the new things on purpose. so, it is important for those elder to maintain the lasting relationship with the old friends, which benefit more for them to cherish the valuable memory and exciting experience. But, for our youngsters, making more relationships with different types of people is essential and significant for us to get the latest information, so as to achieve our life goal efficiently.

In a nutshell, I agree with the statement that it is more important for us to making more friend easily rather than maintain frienships with old friend for a long time.