Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Far from now, it has been orally proven that people cannot leave without one another meaning that they interdependently connect each other. In this regard, some people think that it would be better to continue an old relationship, while others, including me, think otherwise. Supports for this idea are manifold, but two of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, as the time passes, individuals' intellectual tendency as well as their religious beliefs, will change or even turn in some cases. In this regard, people are more likely to be happier when they spend their time with friends who have the same ideology as theirs. This is, because they no longer are needed to discuss or argue about their way of thinking. Besides, people with the same or similar ideology can speak with a broad spectrum of topics meaning that they are more likely to enjoy their free time. In contrast, friends staying with each other even when their tendencies have been changed can be determined like a complete butterfly that is tried to be kept in its past cocoon. I have experienced this bad feeling when I have tried to maintain my friendship with an 18-year friend. At the end, we have both understood that it is better to continue this relation like two simple friends rather than disguise our relation as two happy friends while we were always contacting each other.

Moreover, there are some external circumstances which are becoming bolder these days than before effecting relations. Migration in the top issue in this regard. There is a Persian proverb that says, "If you walk away from my view, you will walk away from my heart." In fact, this can be interpreted that when people are close together, they can have more fun. Thus, those people who can make new friends for themselves can be said that are the ones who are happier. New friends, in addition, because they are close enough can have a better understanding of one another's emotions, for they can more speak with each other. Friends, in my point of view, continue their relation by their common memories that they had had once created them. Hence, when the time passes, inasmuch as they did not create new memories, their relation will unconsciously narrow down to a simple relation meaning that whether they want or not, they cannot be happy as much as the past.

To sum up, with all taken into account, I do believe that having the spirit of making new friends is of great importance for people being happy. Two reasons have mentioned above which can be briefed as changing their ideologies as well as their distance closeness.