Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I have an excellent experience about long-term friendships and I absolutely agree with this kind of friendship. In my perspective, people feel more happiness when they have small number of people as friends over a long period of time than some guys who are interested to hang out with different new people easily. Indeed, long-lasting friendships have many advantages which makes people extremely happy. I would like to reinforce my opinion by following aspects.

First of all, we have a lot of memories with our old friends. Which means that we are in common more with our older friends than our new friends. As an example, me and my close friends started our friendship from childhood. Apparently, we have lots of happy memories. Sometimes, when we gather with each other, we going to tell those memories and make funny moments. I really enjoy about that. In contrast, I have not eye-catching funny memories with my new friends. Since we have not been with each other for so long.

Moreover, we can trust our older friends more than our new friends. Actually, since we grew up with each other, we know every behavior of each other. For instance, I met a student in the first day of the university last year, about three month later we were hanging out as friends. I said some complains about one of our professors to her. Unfortunately, in the last session of our class, I aware that she told my complains to our professor. It was awkward for me. So, I think long-term friendships are more reliable than new friendships.

Last but not least, older friends can help you more to addressing your difficulties in your life. They know you best and are familiar with your situation, So, they can help you to overcome with your problems. Indeed, they can relax you and give you some advices to improve your situations. Old friends are like your family members. They have an ability to keep you calm and make you happy.

Thus, I think the ability to maintain friendships with small number of people over a long time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. I always try to keep my close friends because I think they have a significant role in my life.