Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Nowadays, people have lots of connection with others as a classmate, co-worker, friend, and so on. One of the most essential of these connections is friendship due to can be common in other types. Although a few individuals would like that have friendship with so many humans, I would rather have a relation with a certain number of individuals for an extended period instead of more ones less with a restrict time. There are several reasons for this belief, and in what follows, I will substantiate my viewpoint about some of them.

Firstly, one of the reasons leading people to have friendship with others over a long time is their emotional and daily life needs. We need someone to help us in the difficulties, such as when we have not any money, have divorced from our spouse, and so forth. A few problems cannot be said to our families like brothers or sisters, but a loyal friend known us for an extended period is the best person to talk with him and get some advice from him. For example, in the last September, I divorced from my wife. That time was a very dull and overwhelming moment for me. Vahid is my best friend since 2003. I could not talk to my family about my circumstances. But one day I called him and invited him to my apartment. After 2 hours of talking, I felt better. Thus, if we have a loyal friend for a long time, we could count on him in critical situations.

Secondly, humans want to have a relation with a few individuals for an extended period due to go somewhere like a trip, a university, their homes, and so forth. People usually go to the house of their family. However, after a few time, it could be annoying for them because they will be repetitive persons for them. So, if they can go to the home of another person like a trusted friend, it could be great. For instance, my family communicated with their neighbors about thirty years ago. They had known each other from 1970, about fifty years ago. They had fun, told jokes, enjoyed watching sport matches, and so on when they gathered together. Therefore, if you know a few individuals for a long time, you will definitely be comfortable and enjoy your moments beside them.

To conclude, humans should know a few persons for a long time to have help in difficulties and enjoy their free times when they are with each other.