Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Tourists have different ways by which they can travel in order to have a successful trip. In fact, it is important to have a safe and comfortable journey that will be remembered for a long time. Many people probably travel in a group with tour guides because they will get proper directions and explanations of the historical backgrounds of monuments. In my opinion however, it is better to travel alone for a variety of reasons.

Tour guides are not a priority because they are very expensive. Being a tour guide is a job and the guide has to provide for his family and so charges high prices for trips. For example, if a traveler goes to China it will be more beneficial to explore the country alone. The traveler will be able to go to restaurants and parks all by himself without a strict schedule. He does not have to stick to the preferences of the tour guide which can have high costs. If he gets lost, the locals can help him find his way back for free. So the traveler will save a tremendous amount of money and will use it for more activities in China. As a result, tourists can make the trip worthwhile without spending a lot on a tour guide.

In addition, in this era of technological innovations, I do not think that an assistance of a tour guide is necessary to make a vacation meaningful. Some of those technological advancements include internet services, Wi-Fi accessible tourist locations and smart phones with various apps like google map, virtual tour guide etc. These scientific advancements really help people to be guided by themselves by just following the guidance written or spoken to them. As mentioned in the previous example, a tourist in China can easily understand the best tourist spot in that country by just surfing in Google. Not only that, but also he can read the reviews written on internet by various people about their experiences, which I think is more reliable than a tour guide’s advice which could be biased. In addition, most of the tourists have instant GPS service which easily guide them to the tourist location .Moreover, these days, most of the tourist spots have Wi-fi access which helps everyone to surf and find required information about the vacation spot. All in all, it is obvious that these modern facilities replaces expensive tour guide, thus making the trip more economic and convenient.

People should always consider other ways of having a good time on their own instead of hiring a tour guide. Those who hire an agent to take them around will not enjoy the trip fully because it will cost a lot of money and they will have to follow a strict schedule. Hence, they should try to go alone next time.