Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The family is one of the most important parts of each society and if we have good families, we can ensure a good society. It is all because family is the first group which we face and learn so many things from its members. Some people think it is important to have an extended family which all family members like grandparents, cousins and other family members are living together and think we still need to live in a big family like this; while, others believe these days big families are needed less and having a big family is not as important as it was in the past. In my view, extended families are now less important than before and I would like to elaborate my opinion with following reasons.

Firstly, people's attitude toward family has changed. Some decades ago people liked to live together as a big family and it was really important for them because they could work together and overcome problems easier, but today's people's opinion has changed and they prefer to live alone or in a small family and it makes the importance of big families less. For instance, when I was six years old, my whole family and I were living in a big house as a big family with all my cousins, aunts and uncles. Elders used to work together on our farm and it was a big help because we could have more fun during our work and it was easier to earn money by working as a team. But as time passed, all of us changed our attitude toward living together and preferred to separate and live in smaller houses far from each other. It was exactly the thing which happened for some of my friends too and I believe it was based on a trend in people's opinion toward family which made people pay less attention to big families and declined the importance of extended families.

Secondly, life's cost has increased. Each day we see that inflation in all societies increases and makes the cost of living really more than before which can lead to preferring smaller families in all societies. As time passes, some members of family cannot work anymore and they will be just consumer, also based on this point that the life's cost has increased in a crazy way, active members of a big family cannot afford the cost of a big family's life and this problem forces them to live as a smaller family. To bring an example, I can mention to my own family one more time and say that when I became twenty years old, my father and uncles got retired and did not have the ability to work as hard as they did in the past. It was while all the young members were really busy with their schools and universities and did not have time to work. Also, prices and cost of living were increased and we could not even pay our bills, so our family faced to a big financial problem and that was one of the main reasons why we decided to separate and live as some small families. I am sure it was something which happened to lots of families and forced them to break into smaller families and even prefer to have fewer children.

To cut the long story short, we cannot cast any doubt on the importance of family and living by all family members, but based on presented justification, my conviction is that the extended families are less important now and we see less and less big families every single day. We can even predict that this trend will continue in future as well and we may even see people who are living alone and even do not marry in the next few years.