Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The meaning of extended family has decreased within the years. A few years ago, many family used to live together sharing the same home, but nowadays it does not exist anymore. In the following essay, I will explain with two reasons why I believe so.

First of all, before all member not direct of a family shared a same house for a long period. In one home used to live parents, grandparents, aunts, cousins and so on. Within the past of the years different countries have passed difficult economic situations that have decreased the possibilities for many families to continue living together. As a result, families have taken the decision of split them to enhance the quality of live. My personal experience is an example of that. About ten years ago when we live in Cuba, all my family leave together, my grandparents, my cousins, my parents, my aunts and my uncles. Since we emigrated to United States we had to separate and everyone rented their own house because the situation in this country is different to which we were used to. As you can see my extended family will not exist anymore.

Moreover, extended family also have been affected because many people want independence once they get married. Young people do not want to live with member of their families because they do not want to be controlled by others. Living with their parents, aunts, or grandparents will not let them make act with freedom. For example, my brother is thirty years old. Since he got married he rent his own apartment and he is living with his wife alone. This is another example that show us how extended family has been destroyed and it is now less important than before.

In conclusion, for all that I mention above, I strongly believe that extended family is less important now than it was in the past. Many circumstances have decrease the value of extended family, such as economic situations and independence.