Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With this galloping rate in which science and technology are flourishing, an individual's relationship with his kins has changed dramatically. People do not visit their relatives frequently nowadays, and they prefer to use cellphones or the internet to keep on touch with them. When it comes to this point, some people have some debates as to whether the value of the extended family has decreased or not over the past few decades. Personally speaking, I think that the extended family is less important in comparison to the past. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First of all, people do spend less time with their extended family in comparison to the past. It is crystal clear that if someone is important for an individual, he would spend a large amount of time with him. People spend their leisure time with people who they really care about, like father, best friend, and girlfriend, to name butt a few. On the other hand, people do not like to spend time with people who are not important for them. For instance, people in my society used to visit all members of their family at the beginning of the new year. It was one of the most important traditions of my culture. However, people do not visit their relatives nowadays, and most of them just call their parents and siblings to say happy new year. If the extended family was important for people, they would find time to visit them.

Secondly, an individual wants to solve the problems of people who he really likes. Nowadays, people do not care about problems of their kins a lot. Therefore, we can conclude that an individual's relatives are not important to him anymore. To be more specific, one of the best ways that people can show that they care about someone is that he will do his best to tackle his problems. For example, people in the past were more willing to give money to their extended family members to solve their financial problems. These days, most of the people have to deal with what they have on their plates by their own since they are aware that they cannot rely on other's people help. As a consequence, it is incontrovertibly axiomatic that people care less about their extended family nowadays because they will not help their family members when they need other's people help.

By way of conclusion, the analysis of the aforementioned ideas brings us to the point that an individual has less emotion for his extended family over the past few decades. This is because not only does an individual spend less time with them but also he does not try to solve their problems.