Do you agree or disagree? People can solve important problems by themselves or by their families; thus, it is almost not necessary to refer to the government.

Throughout history, problem-solving always has been a crucial factor in mankind’s life. The controversial question which arises here is whether solving people’s problems by themselves or by their families is enough, thus, it is not obligatory to call attention to the government. As far as I am concerned, although some personal problems could be solved by people, there are some problems that require to government’s involvement. I will elaborate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, one should take into account that in today’s complicated modern lifestyle, a government has a specific definition: a system of people who have the authority to control a country by law, resources and knowledge. In every community, some problems are found that people cannot figure it out by on their own. For example, imagine the public transportation system in a town needs to be improved: some streets require monitoring facilities such as traffic lights, traffic signs, public transportation vehicles are deteriorating, and must be replaced. People understand the problem, even they might have the solution, but they cannot take an action for several reasons: they do not know which signs are supposed to be there, how much it would cost to repair the vehicles, and are they are capable of affording that costs? . Here comes the government involvement. By the authority, capital and law, resovles the problems that definitely people could not solve will be resolved.

The second reason I would like to mention is that governments not only are in charge of controlling a society, but they also are responsible to consider everyone’s benefits in a community. Society members might recommend a solution which only will meet the problem of a group in the country, and will cause difficulties for others. The government must take everyone’s benefits and interests into account, and come up with a solution which solves the problem, and covers all groups’ interests as well. As an example, I can mention a situation which happened in China in 2010. The business owners increased the minimum wage for their male workers by about 10% per hour; wonenwomen protested and did not show up at their jobs for a week. The government convoked the cabinet, and legislated a law by which, business owners could pay their taxes in several occasions, so they were able to pay their female employees as much as they paid to their male ones. After that, women got back to their jobs and the problems were solved by considering the interests of both parties.

To sum up, I really believe that people can solve their personal important problems by themselves, but for some major problems, they have to refer to the government and let it to figure out the solution because the government has the ability, resources, and law to solve problems, and it is its responsibility to think of everyone’s interests to do so.