Do you agree or disagree?

One can learn a lot about a person from the books and movies that he likes.

Nowadays, despite the many disparities people have in a wide array of areas so far as one's opinion goes, one point that almost everybody agrees upon is the importance of knowing people's characteristics. This is owing to the fact that determining one's characteristics could guide us how should we treat them. That being said, in this regard, different opinions might stir heated debate as to by which way could we know one's personality. One particularly reoccurring idea brought up is that movies a person watches or books he reads are the good indicators for his personality. Many utterly repudiate this notion and I count myself as one of them. In what follows, the rationale for this thesis will be elaborated by focusing on two reasons.

First and foremost, people usually watch a movie or read a book to find something they miss. It is the pivotal function of literature and cinema to make us feel as if we are who we desire. As Sadegh Hedayat, the prominent Iranian writer, said:"Literature is the only means that make us believe we are those who we always envied." Take an elementary teacher who is also the father of three children as an instance. Regarding the current economic condition, he might desire to have a better job with higher adventure and salary. He even might want to have the time to attend pilotage courses and became a military pilot but obviously, he cannot. By watching the move' Above the Frozen Sea", which is about a courageous pilot whose plane stuck in the North Pole, the teacher could put his mind at ease and deal with his rudimentary life. In other words, the type of movie he watches is not correspondence with his personality in real life.

The other reason which deserves some words here is the fact that so complicated one's personality is that could not be learned by the type of their favorite movies and books. There are a plethora of factors which contribute to one's characteristics; their beloved cinema or literature genre is not sufficient enough for learning about them. One of the best examples by whom I would like to explain my argument is Dr. Haniball, the main character of the Haniball book series. He was a brutal serial killer but he highly appreciated art, he listened to classical music, he loved french cinema and his favorite writer was Dante. Having all these information in mind, one might reach the conclusion that Hannibal is a pure gentleman but on the contrary, he was a serial killer.

In summary, based on the aforementioned reasons, it seems more judicious to say that rarely can we learn about a person by knowing their favorite books or movies because both people usually looking for the movies different from their actual life and one's personality is too complicated to be determined by movies and books they like.