A high school that normally gives students about two months of time off from school during the summer is introducing a new educational requirement for students in eleventh grade (ages 16-17) over the summer, students have the following two options to fulfill the new requirement.

– They can attend classes each day for several weeks to complete a university-level course on a subject that they are considering selecting as their major field of study at university.

– They can spend several weeks traveling to museums and historic places in their area with a group of students guided by a teacher and then write a paper of their experience.

Which one of these options do you think would be most beneficial for students and why?

By and large, schools have perennially been trying to apply the best methods to pave the way to the prosperity of their students. In this regard, certain schools consider some programs for their students to do in summer. These programs have a prominent role in students' success, especially for students who want to prepare for attending university. There has been no shortage of debates among scholars on whether it is more beneficial for these students to attend university-level classes on a subject that they want to select as their major field at university or travel to historical places with other students guided by a teacher and write a paper of their experience. From my vantage point, it is vital for students to attend classes that have a level as same as a university course. In what follows, two elaborate reasons will vindicate my standpoint.

The first compelling reason corroborating my idea is that this way helps students to gain experience and prepare for attending university. By doing so, students will become familiar with the difficulty of a university course, and they will find out how it differs from a high school course. It is crystal clear that, when they attend university, they will know how much effort is needed to pass a university course. Therefore, they won't be shocked. By way of illustration, seven years ago, when I attended university, I didn't think that university courses differ from courses that I passed in high school. I taught like high school I would read for my exams and will pass them readily. Unfortunately, no one corrected that misunderstanding. Consequently, I couldn't pass the three courses that I took. I had never experienced such sophisticated courses before I attended university. Not only did I become disappointed and motive less, but also I should have taken those courses again. If my high school had provided a program for us to attend university-level classes, I might have passed those university courses.

Furthermore, students who attend classes on a subject that they are considering selecting as their major at university will found out are they really interested in that major or not. It is axiomatic that they have an opportunity to change their minds and choose another major if they don't really interested in that major. Moreover, regardless of their interests, they might find out that they don't have adequate perseverance to tolerate the difficulties of some majors. As a case in point, my brother's school required senior students to attend classes in which they should have completed a university-level course on a subject that they would choose as their university's majors. My brother was interested in electrical engineering and attended an electronics class. After three months, he found out that his imaginations about that major were not true. Thus, he explored on the internet with more seriousness and found out that his real interest is mechanical engineering. As a result, he chose mechanical engineering as his major field of study at university. He would not have known his real interest if his school had not required them to attend those classes.

By perusing the above paragraphs, one can infer that in summer, it is more beneficial for senior students to attend classes to complete a university-level course rather than traveling with a group of students to visit historical places. For the sake of brevity, a couple of points are worth reiterating: First, students gain experience before attending university by doing this way; second, they have an opportunity to be sure about their interests.