If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

The hometown that I grew up in is Kolkata, India. The city is beautifully set p by the river Ganges. It is the amalgamation point of various cultures and traditions. It is also known as the city of Joy for the various festivals it likes to celebrate. But the biggest problem that my city is facing is air pollution and I would like to decrease the air pollution of the city by changing the transport system in the city.

The public transport system of Kolkata mainly consists of public buses, cabs and private cars. These public buses and cabs flout rules regarding the use of new engines and contribute to the pollution. I would like to form a committee who will be responsible for checking and hence, if responsible, charging a fine for flouting the rules. I would also like to decrease the number of cabs and increase the number of buses so that less number of vehicles is present on the street.

Also, another way to decrease the number of private cars is improve condition and the number of routes of the subway. The subway, present in Kolkata is quite popular among the masses but the problem is it is only circumscribed in certain routes and areas of Kolkata. Also, the condition of subway needs to be improved to give a better service to the public. Also, I would like to implement a ban on hand driven rickshaws as it is parochial and belongs to the medieval ages. With the advent of new technologies, I am sure small electric cars play a huge role in the transport system and hece, air pollution can be decreased.

The air pollution in Kolkata is beyond the threshold level and is causing lots of lung diseases, asthma problems and even lung cancers. Hence, I would like an overhaul of the transport system to decrease the pollution level.