Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

The coats of domestic dogs are of two varieties: "double" being common with dogs (as well as wolves) originating from colder climates, made up of a coarse guard hair and a soft down hair, or "single", with the topcoat only.

Domestic dogs often display the remnants of countershading, a common natural camouflage pattern. A countershaded animal will have dark coloring on its upper surfaces and light coloring below,[46] which reduces its general visibility. Thus, many breeds will have an occasional "blaze", stripe, or "star" of white fur on their chest or underside.[47]

Regarding coat appearance or health, the coat can be maintained or affected by multiple nutrients present in the diet, see Coat (dog) for more information.

Tail

See also: Docking

There are many different shapes for dog tails: straight, straight up, sickle, curled, or cork-screw. As with many canids, one of the primary functions of a dog's tail is to communicate their emotional state, which can be important in getting along with others. In some hunting dogs, however, the tail is traditionally docked to avoid injuries.[48] In some breeds, such as the Braque du Bourbonnais, puppies can be born with a short tail or no tail at all.[49]

Differences from wolves

The Saarloos wolfdog carries more gray wolf DNA than any other dog breed[50]

Despite their close genetic relationship and the ability to inter-breed, there are a number of diagnostic features to distinguish the gray wolves from domestic dogs. Domesticated dogs are clearly distinguishable from wolves by starch gel electrophoresis of red blood cell acid phosphatase.[51] The tympanic bullae are large, convex and almost spherical in gray wolves, while the bullae of dogs are smaller, compressed and slightly crumpled.[52] Compared with equally sized wolves, dogs tend to have 20% smaller skulls and 30% smaller brains.[53]:35 The teeth of gray wolves are also proportionately larger than those of dogs.[54] Dogs have a more domed forehead and a distinctive "stop" between forehead and nose.[55] The temporalis muscle that closes the jaws is more robust in wolves.[4]:p158 Wolves do not have dewclaws on their back legs, unless there has been admixture with dogs that had them.[56] Most dogs lack a functioning pre-caudal gland and enter estrus twice yearly, unlike gray wolves which only do so once a year.[57] So-called primitive dogs such as Dingoes and Basenjis retain the yearly estrus cycle.[58]

Dogs generally have brown eyes and wolves almost always have amber or light colored eyes.[59] The skin of domestic dogs tends to be thicker than that of wolves, with some Inuit tribes favoring the former for use as clothing due to its greater resistance to wear and tear in harsh weather.[60] The paws of a dog are half the size of those of a wolf, and their tails tend to curl upwards, another trait not found in wolves.[61] The dog has developed into hundreds of varied breeds, and shows more behavioral and morphological variation than any other land mammal.[62] For example, height measured to the withers ranges from a 6 inches (150 mm) in the Chihuahua to 3.3 feet (1.0 m) in the Irish Wolfhound; color varies from white through grays (usually called "blue") to black, and browns from light (tan) to dark ("red" or "chocolate") in a wide variation of patterns; coats can be short or long, coarse-haired to wool-like, straight, curly, or smooth.[63] It is common for most breeds to shed their coat.