It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

In olden days, people had less knowledge about the things around him. As years passed, he began to ponder over how, when and why the surroundings exists and started creating new things and passed on this kind of information to the younger generations. such is the history of development. To create something innovative, it requires the knowledge of not one field but also different fields. Hence, I concur that it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Educational institutions, knowing the growing demand of industry, frames the curriculum in such a way that students have diverse knowledge in various aspects of their course of study. Further, students have the option of choosing the required courses as an elective. that is the reason why engineers study physics, chemistry, mathematics and english in the first year of their study. also, they must learn about environmental science as an optional paper. Without such education, an engineer will be useless.

Furthermore, the mobile phones, laptops and different communication objects that we encounter in our daily life are not created based on a single field of study whereas it requires the knowledge of a spectrum of thought processes. A rocket propulsion requires the knowledge of physics in order to know the projectile, mathematics knowledge is needed to calculate the size, shape and distance whereas knowledge of chemistry is required to know the chemical composition and english is the tool of communication.

Moreover, a biologist will be able to appreciate the beauty of the colors signified by the pathogens represented by red color attacking the blood cells represented by green color if he had prior knowledge about the aesthetic value of an art. Nevertheless, an artist or a musician specializes in one specific aspect as it is more than necessary for his profession.

To put in a nutshell, it an be summarized that the profession of a person decides whether that individual should be strong in one specific subject or many academic subjects.