It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Jobs occupy a great time span of our lives. One important issue about occupations is their working hours and working days. There is a hot debate among people that weather works should be in three days with long hours or in five days with shorter hours. I, personally, subscribe to the view that it is more pleasing to have a job that it is only three days a week with extended time due to providing more options for planning in the weekend, increasing the efficiency of the workers, and providing more time for the family members to be together. In- depth discussion on each of the reasons is presented below.

The first and probably the most important reason why I want to work three days a week with shorter hours is that I can use my time in the off- days of the week more efficient. That is, I will have more options to take as my weekend plan. For example, I can plan to learn another language on those days, while if I had only 2 days as my weekend, it would take a long time for me to learn another language.

One might consider this from another angle, which is the fact that the more you rest, the more efficient you will be. As reported in the scientific literature, people who gain more relaxing time period and have more free days are more motivated to go back to work. This implicates that by decreasing the working days, people will work better and more efficient in comparison with the case of 5 working days.

The last but not the least important reason is that if people have to work only 3 days a week, they can spend more time with their family on the other days which will have significant long- term effects on the society. According to statistics, children who spend more time near their parents are more academically successful in the future. As a result, not only working 3 days a week can provide more time for the family to be together but also it will eventually result in a more sustained society.

In a word, although it seems that working 5 days a week may have more productivity for the society, I believe that working in three days with shorter hours is more beneficial because it provides more options for the people to efficiently use their weekend days, it expands the resting days of the workers which will increase their motivation for their jobs, and it provides more time for the families to be together which will have substantial long- term effects.