It is more important to choose friends that can have fun with you than to choose friends that will help you when you need them.

By and large, the contemporary age is no strange to the notion of independence and its necessities in the modern era. At a specific age, each person must become independent from their parents. In this regard, as the patterns of living are changing, notably, in the recent years, some are on the belief that the children are more dependent on their families than they were in the past. Notwithstanding differences, in my view, the level of dependence is increasingly reducing in the recent years. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, nowadays, the children can be easily informed about the different elements of life in varied areas. as a matter of fact, as the technology evolves and creates more and more windows of opportunities, people are equipped with different conveniences through their life, such radio, satellite TV, cell phones, laptop, to name but a few. In this condition, the children dealing more with these conveniences, compared with adults, are exposed to a wider variety of programs and information broadcasted or published in these areas. increasingly exposed to such areas, the children tend to get their information through these, and as a result, they do not need their parents, making a decision, choosing the best place to eat, getting a tutor, to name but a few. On the other hand, lacking the social media and other equipment, such as TV and radio in the past, the main source of information and details about different problems they would face was the parents, so they refer to their parents to get informed about their issues.

Secondly, compared with the past, the youngsters spend more and more time with their friends, thereby reducing the amount of time they hang out with their parents. In fact, the young people, in this age and time, can be aware of different ceremonies and events they may have with their friends through social media, such as Whatsapp, Telegram and so on. In the past, nevertheless, due to lack of these types of equipment, people did not meet with their friends unless in school or in one route accidentally. In addition, the children can be exceedingly inspired by the friends, in comparison with the family members. An observation I have made recently is a good example of this. My little brother, named Mohammad, decided to wear the hip-hop clothes one year ago, while my parent advised him to wear the prevalent dress, which is more admirable. Inspired by his friends, he evaded accepting our parents’ advice. In contrast, I can recall that when I was nearly ten years old, I was required, by force, to wear the clothes which my father had bought for me.

All in all, although some people may disagree with my opinion, because of the increased level of information among young persons and increased amount of time they are spending with friends, they are more independent in this age.